Sickies

So the littles are sick. Like, horrible rattling cough, snotty faces, whining, tired, miserable sick.

Two sick babies mean mommy and daddy don’t sleep.

And not “don’t sleep” as in “oh, my baby was up all night, he only slept for like 5 hours” sort of don’t sleep. No, that IS sleep my friends. No sleep is rocking a wheezing baby in a rocking chair for 4 hours because he won’t let you put him down, and hearing another baby stirring in the next room, after it took her an hour and a half to fall asleep two hours earlier…

That is no sleep.

No sleep is putting the sick baby in his crib and telling your husband, I can’t, because it is dawning on you that not only have you been rocking sick, snotty babies all day, and all night, but in 3 hours you’re going to have to do it for another whole day.

No sleep is crying silently because if you wake a baby you might throw up.

Okay, that’s a bit melodramatic.

But not untrue.

They will get better. They will sleep. The snot will dry up. But right now? Mommy and daddy are wondering how the human race has survived this long.

And I’m pretty sure daddy is making an appointment for snip snip.

That is all.

Sarah

20130411-105952.jpg

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

4 responses to “Sickies

  • Veronique

    The human race has survived this long because it usually doesn’t reproduce in pairs (or more). And that throwing-up feeling, yup, it’s not melodramatic, it’s what it is. I am a member of a FB group called “Naturally Parenting Twins” and every once in a while a mom posts something like “I haven’t slept since the twins were born 6 weeks ago, when will this end?” And I never know if I should tell them the truth or if the truth will break them. You won’t sleep for the first year. Not “you won’t sleep a lot”… No, you won’t sleep. Until my twins were about 15 months, I woke-up every 45 minutes. If they were sick, I was awake all night. And it’s not because they were breastfed because mine were formula-supplemented. They were just two normal but different babies who had their own schedule regardless of my opinion. It was horrible but the reward is proportional. And my hubby is not getting the snip-snip because I want another singleton just to LAUGH at how easy one baby is. I thought it was tough, I thought I wasn’t sleeping. But really? One baby is a joke. So cut yourself some slack: your experience of parenthood is twins. And twins are crazy difficult.

    • Sarah Tombler

      My husband keeps asking why other parents if twins say it gets better, because it hasn’t so far. It changes, but better is a strong word, lol!

      • Veronique

        I found that I “turned corners” every 6 months. Now I have 18 month-old twins. They are sleeping through the night (meaning that on any given night, one may wake-up once) and they no longer need to be bottle supplemented (they are breastfed with 3 square meals). It’s more civilized for sure but not easy yet!

  • SaraBeth

    The double sick is the worst…. we had to buy more crib sheets because we couldn’t do the laundry fast enough (and we had 6 sets originally). I have spent many hours crying from my rocking chair with a sick baby. I don’t know what’s worse when they’re sick at the same time or when it’s staggered. Hang in there! Spring is coming and hopefully less germs.

Leave a Reply

