Fast Food, Good Food: Mmmm…Millet!

Well I did it. I finally performed my housewifely duties and prepared dinner before my husband got home from work! I generally like to keep expectations low on that sort of thing, but I was able to throw this baby together while taking care of infant twins, so trust me, this is an easy one!

Millet, Lentils and Carrot salad.

Millet, Lentils and Carrot salad.

Millet is cooked exactly the same way as Quinoa or rice (which you could use instead if you are not feeling adventurous!). Rinse the grain, then fry it in the pot before you add the water; this releases a nutty flavour. Once it starts to brown a bit, add the water, and bring to a boil before reducing heat and simmering for about 20 minutes. While that simmers, rinse the lentils and bring to a boil using the same ratio (1 cup to 2 cups of water). Once things are boiling I reduced the heat to medium and started adding flavour. I added a chopped tomato (the vitamin C in the tomato helps absorb the iron in the lentils! Isn’t food smart?), dried basil, a tablespoon on Dijon mustard, a tablespoon or 2 of olive oil and a good glug of cider vinegar. I usually add garlic, but I’m finding it’s making my babies a bit gassy, so I omitted it this time.

While that was all simmering away I got out my trusty food processor with the grater blade in. You could also just shred away on the cheese grater, but that might be a bit more labour intensive. I shredded up 3 large heirloom carrots, transferred them to a bowl and added olive oil, vinegar and cranberries to taste.

Once the millet was fluffy, I added salt and pepper and fluffed with a fork. I let most of the water boil off the lentils and voila! Dinner!

My husband’s comments: This looks healthy.

But he still ate it.

And now for gratuitous cuteness:

IMG_0893

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

