Twin pregnancy update: The third trimester

Well here’s the photo proof:

DSC00597

 

That was July 4th!

Here’s August 8th, check out my swollen feet!

DSC00613

 

Here I am with Hubby at 38 weeks at our good friends Keith and Kelly’s wedding:

DSC00629

 

And finally at 39 weeks pregnant:

DSC00633

Yes, I was huge. I was swollen all over, it was the hottest summer on record. Everything hurt. My back my front my sides. Getting in and out of bed to pee every 2 hours was so painful. I had a doctor’s appointment and a midwife appointment every week. Not that I tried, but I don’t think I would’ve fit behind the wheel of my car by the end! I was pretty sure I would go at any second…but I didn’t. Those babes just wanted to stay inside. They were kicking and wiggling around like crazy. In hindsight I should’ve taken video. It really freaked out the hubby, sometimes people across the room could see it!

I ate whatever I wanted. A lot more ice cream than I’ve had in a while that’s for sure. I lived on homemade apple juice popsicles. And ice cubes! I crunched on about 3 trays of ice a day. A lot of people have asked me if I had any meat cravings, but no I didn’t. I also haven’t eaten meat in over 16 years, so I didn’t really think about it. I did eat a lot more dairy than I should’ve, but I was craving calories like crazy and I was so exhausted that a lot of the times it came down to what was easiest. I mean look at me. I was huge!

The nursery was ready, the newborn diapers were bought. I watched A LOT of A Baby Story on TLC…

So we waited and waited…

 

Birth story coming up next!

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

2 responses to “Twin pregnancy update: The third trimester

Leave a Reply

