Moments when I know it will all be worth it

My pregnancy has not been easy, and I hope it doesn’t come across as whining ALL the time…but I do actually have moments when I know it will all be worth it.

On Sunday (through pouring rain and a generally miserable day) I went to Chapters and bought myself some novels – I’ve been so focussed on pregnancy and parenting books, I’m feeling a void in my life where fiction once lived! I was standing by a wonderful table selling books about hobby farming (THE DREAM), when a little boy and his mom walked by, fresh out of the kids section, carrying a few choice books. The little guy was probably about 3 or 4, with glasses and way of speaking which seemed beyond his years. Here is the conversation I was priviledged to overhear:

Mom: Are you okay?

Boy: Well, no. My underwear are really stuck in my bum.

Mom: (laughing, realizing I’ve overheard this) Ok, let’s stop by the washroom first then!

I smiled as the mom steered the little guy towards the washroom. I think the mom was as happy that someone overheard this as I was listening too it.

Sometimes, your underwear just gets UP there, you know?

It will all be worth it.

 

 

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

