Twin pregnancy: Week 22 Update

Twin Pregnancy: Week 22

We have movers and shakers! They little ones are constantly wiggling, although still not too obvious from the outside (daddy always misses it), they are making their presence known! I met my OB today, who seems like a nice man. He tried to give me a spiel about how to eat vegetarian foods so that I absorb iron better, and he was very impressed with my knowledge! Spouting out everything I know, though, made me realize I need to start tuning up my diet, now that I can stomach most foods again. I’ve been making bean and veggie salads again, and I shovelled in some quinoa the other night. I’ve also cut way back on the yoghurt and cheese, and while I will probably continue to eat eggs, I’m trying to get more vitamin C in me (to help with the old iron absorption!). Work is starting to get hard to get through, I feel ready to start focussing on my little ones, not reviewing standard operating procedures on information requests. I am trying not to wish myself home though, I know a few people on bed rest, and it does not sound pleasant! I will happily continue working if it means I am not confined to a bed. My ankles and feet are swollen and sore by the end of the day, and I am wiped out, but I wake up feeling good again. I also started my registry, with the help of my husband’s lovely cousin (thanks Katie!) and I’m so glad I did, there is SO much to think about! Crib bumper pads and play yards and bath tubs and mirrors to hang in the car so you can see them when you look in the rear-view mirror…So many little things I hadn’t thought of! In other exciting news, our prenatal class for multiples starts next week. I just hope they keep it positive, I’m starting to find that when it comes to multiples, most information (ie: the internet) talks about how high risk it is and focusses on everything that can go wrong. So far my birth team (my midwife/OB/mom) have all been so positive and acting like having twins is perfectly normal, I don’t want to start worrying (I’m having a hard enough time with this nesting psychosis – ie: house hunting when you aren’t planning on moving!). This weekend is my last yoga weekend, I will officially be able to teach yoga! I am planning a longer post all about it, because I was – ahem – distracted for the last half of the course, so I am not planning on starting my yoga career just yet. I am happy that I completed it, and I’m happy that my weekends will be free now. Have a great weekend! Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

