Twin Pregnancy: Week 21 Update

Twin Pregnancy Week 21

So I had the 20 week ultrasound on Tuesday and….we’re having a BOY and a GIRL! I must admit, I’m very pleased with that, although I would have loved my babies no matter what, I feel like this way I get the best of both worlds, and should we decide to not have anymore children, I’ll be happy. And believe me, there was no doubt about their sex, they both showed off their bits loud and proud! They are, unfortunately, lying transverse right now, which means horizontally, little boy on top, little girl on the bottom, like bunk beds. Every night I have a conversation with them about how they need to move into a head-down position so that mommy doesn’t have to have a c-section! I can feel them wiggling all over now, especially after I eat, and I’ve felt them from the outside, but it’s still too random for daddy to catch them at it. 

I have been nesting in high-gear, I purchased a new comfy sofa, and a new king size bed for family sleeping. We moved our bedroom down to the second floor so I can be beside the bathroom, and what a pleasure my midnight pee has been, not having to navigate a flight of stairs! 

I am noticing that when I wake up in the middle of the night, it is harder to fall back asleep. My mind immediately starts racing and I toss and turn for a while (like an hour or two). I’m not sure if this is nerves, or hormones, or what, but it is really annoying, especially because I work and can’t take an afternoon nap! 

My eating is more or less back to normal, except that I don’t often have the energy to cook, so it’s either been quick dinners I can whip up, or take-out. The Husband is working hard on our new house, so he doesn’t have much energy for cooking either. In two months I can stop working (if not before, depending on how things progress) and hopefully I can spend a bit more time in the kitchen then. 

I’m very proud of myself for curing the cold I had last week, by cutting out the dairy for a few days and using the neti pot 2 or 3 times a day. I really didn’t like that neti pot at first, but you do get used to it. Of course, then I saw an episode of House where the patient got an infection in his brain from using one, which I admit has put me off a bit, but I’m sure our Canadian water is okay, right? Right? 

We still don’t have any names, and when we do, I will be keeping it a surprise until they are born. It’s only fair, I shared the sex! 

Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 

Sarah

P.S. Happy Birthday to my little sis Aly! She turns 18 today, I can’t believe how time has been flying by!

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

One response to “Twin Pregnancy: Week 21 Update

Leave a Reply

