Twin Pregnancy: Week 18 + 5d Update

I know, I owed you one 5 days ago, but time seems to be flying by like crazy, so this will have to do!

18 weeks and 5 days

Again, this was first thing in the morning, I’m not wearing any make-up and I woke up at 5am and couldn’t get back to sleep. It doesn’t seem very fair that my pregnant body is already depriving me of sleep. Well, I suppose it’s more my pregnant brain…

Last week I went to a prenatal yoga class at the Shunnya Center for the first time. The yoga is based on Gurmuhk, who wrote this beautiful book that I highly recommend. She practices Kundalini yoga, which, if you’ve never taken a class before, I also refer to as “magic” yoga. There’s a lot of chanting and repetitive movements, that always seems to me like we are reciting a spell. But it’s a spell to make you feel good! I honestly haven’t been to a straight-up prenatal yoga class yet, so I can’t compare them, but what I love about Kundalini prenatal is that is more about making you feel comfortable and excited and connected to your baby, than it is about exercise (which you get by default, but it doesn’t focus on that part). It’s like therapy for pregnant ladies, and God knows I’ve needed it! I left the class last week so happy to be pregnant, a feeling that honestly is not always there for me. I’m going again tonight!

Another new development is finally not feeling deprived by not having a glass of wine every now and then. I sulked about it for a while, but suddenly (or I suppose not so suddenly, it’s been almost 5 months…) it’s not the first thing I think about when I’m headed to a party or out for dinner (and no, I didn’t have a problem! It was just a fairly constant – and moderate – part of my life). I don’t feel as socially awkward being around other people who are drinking, and I don’t find I need a substitute (nonalcoholic beer for example) to feel comfortable.

I’m weaning myself off of my anti-nausea pills. I’m down to one a day, and hoping to be done with them this weekend. The last time I stopped them cold turkey, I ended up feeling the sickest I’ve felt so far. This time I decided to slowly stop them. I take the pill in the evening, when I feel the most nauseous. So far so good!

We are counting down the days until the ultrasound. I’ve started to feel things rolling around in there, and I feel connected to them, but I’m really excited for my husband to see them. I think it will make it more real for him – even though he already stares at my belly like it’s an alien growth – this will just make it more clear what’s going on!

I had a revelation this week that a twin pregnancy is very very different from a singleton pregnancy (not better or worse, because I can’t compare them!). I was speaking with another girl in my office who is expecting her first baby in mid-August. She is planning to work right up until August – because she won’t be lugging around more than 10 lbs of baby or have had to put on at least 35 lbs (I’ll be done mid-June…if I make it that far). She looked a bit confused when I asked her how bad her food aversions were, and she seemed surprised by my already swollen ankles. She is technically 2 weeks ahead of me – but I am technically 5 weeks ahead of where I am! Point is, I’m learning to be kinder to myself. My body is doing some seriously hard work, double time.

I’m off to Niagara Falls this weekend for my good friend Jess’s bachelorette party. We will be doing a wine tour which I will be jealously watching, but I have given myself permission to buy a bottle of wine at each vineyard and save it up for post-birth. I know I just said how okay I am with not drinking, but I WILL enjoy that first glass once the little ones have arrived!

Have a great weekend!

Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

