Pregnancy Meals: The Wrap

As I’ve mentioned, food has not been my friend these past few months. But I do need to feed my 2 growing babies, so I’ve found a few recipes that don’t make me gag, don’t take much energy, and can be made really fast (The hunger tends to hit hard and fast!). One of our go-to meals has become The Wrap. I must credit my husband for this one, since he came up with it one day while I was lying on the couch unable to come up with single item of food that I could stand thinking about. The tofu is amazing, and gives you a good dose of protein, and the addition of coleslaw makes it light and crunchy! Enjoy!

Tofu frying

 

The tofu was marinated in soy sauce, olive oil and ginger, but experiment with whatever works for you. I normally add garlic, but I can’t be anywhere near garlic right now. We don’t marinate it for long either, 10 minutes or so.

Chop up toppings

 

Chop up your favourite toppings. Note that I can’t stand onion right now either. That’s why it’s been exhiled from the rest of the veggies. Avocado has really been hitting the spot for me, the babies like the fat I think! 

                     Don’t be a hero, this is bagged coleslaw from the store. It’s pre-chopped cabbage, and it works. I promise, when I feel like a normal human being again, I will buy an actual head of cabbage and not buy the packaged stuff, but in times of need, I take what I can get! The dressing is just a simple olive oil and vinegar. 

                     

We split open a pita, and laid it down one half slightly covering the other. I believe this is how professionals do it, although when I started rolling it didn’t turn out so great. You could also cut the pita in half and make pockets. Again, do what works! I used a bit of dijon mustard on mine, and the husband of course coated his in Sriracha sauce. 

                     Roll it up, and be sure to eat it over a plate, because it can become messy. I had three of these bad boys, each one better than the next. Delish!

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

