Twin Pregnancy: week 17 update

Twin pregnancy - Week 17: Not the best pic of me, I'd just woken up. But you get the idea, I'm getting BIG. (Will this seem small soon?)

I had my midwife appointment on Thursday, and I’m measuring at 22 weeks (if there was only one!).  No wonder I feel so huge all of a sudden! Still no movement from the littles, or no movement that I can say with confidence is from my children, not from gas. I’m eating way better (and more), but I’m still eating a lot of dairy to get fast protein. I’m conflicted about it, but I’m mostly sticking to yoghurt, and the odd cheese on a sandwich. My appetite has been so off, that I need fast and efficient food, which unfortunately means dairy sometimes. I’m trying to pick organic at least. Once I stop working and I have a bit more time, I’ll see if I can find some local yoghurt so that I can meet the farmer (and maybe the cow?). That would make me much happier.

I’m starting to get in a bit more exercise, which is necessary now that I’ve started gaining weight (10 lbs since I weighed myself last month – trying to keep my ego quiet about that!).  I’ve been walking at lunch and taking some long walks with the dog and husband in the evenings.

The nausea is subsiding, and my energy is returning. Looking back, I didn’t even realize how bad I was feeling until I started feeling better. Now that I am feeling better, I’m into a full on nesting mode. The kitchen has never been cleaner; I’ve gathered some boxes to start packing up my books, getting ready for the big move in July. I’ve made a list of everything that needs to be done before then, and hopefully I will be mobile for a while longer. Our new house is growing along with the babies. The rough is going on, and soon windows and doors will be arriving. It’s fun to watch it grow along with my belly!

Emotionally I’m finding stability again, and starting to get excited about my two little babes. I know it’ll be twice the work, but I don’t really have anything to compare it to, so I won’t know it’s twice the work! Also, I can’t get over other people’s reaction to having twins. Honestly, it makes people so excited! It’s sort of infectious.

The other nesting side effect I’m having is worrying about where we live. I mentioned in my last post about considering moving to the suburbs. I still get impulses to move out of the city. I want my kids to grow up building tree forts and feeling free, not confined to a backyard deck, a stroller and a park. The housing prices in this city are absurd right now, so there’s no way we could find something in town with a big back yard in our price range. Anyway, I’m settled on living in the new house for a year, and then we’ll figure out where we’re going.

It’s so strange to think that in a year I’ll be a mother of two….

Oh, and the midwife wrote me a recommendation for an ultra sound in week 19! Hopefully we’ll get to find out the sexes, which will make name choosing so much easier.

Thank God for the second trimester, everything looks a bit brighter when you don’t feel like you’re dying!

Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

5 responses to “Twin Pregnancy: week 17 update

  • ashley

    Thanks for checking out my blog. Yes you will look back at this picture and think you were super tiny. Brace yourself for a hot summer… find some maternity dresses and you will be happy. Honestly twins are completely manageable. I know many other twin moms and they share this feeling.

  • Kelly C

    Glad to hear you are feeling better!

  • viedecirque

    Hi Sarah,
    I found your blog through a link from The Extraordinary Baby Shoppe Facebook page. I have 6 month-old twins (boy-girl) and a blog and I just thought I would stop to say “Hi!”, hang in there and rest as much as possible, way more than you think is necessary. You look fabulous!

    I laughed when I read your “no more surprises” about the babies gender. I never found my babies gender until the twins and it was exactly my feeling: no more surprises, I’m all surprised for 2011, thank you very much. And we must have had the same ultrasound tech. Mine was “This heart is at 144 bpm and this heart is at 164…” La-dee-da, nothing to see here, moving right along…

    I like your vegan journey: I am trying to transition a family of 10 off the mainstream food supply toward a more plant-based and local diet (although not vegan). Not easy on a budget! I will be visiting often.

    Cheers!

    • Sarah Tombler

      Thanks for your encouragement! I’ve never really had to budget my food before, but with 2 on the way and me taking time off (probably more than the year I get paid!) it’s something I’m going to have to start thinking about. I’m not eating vegan right now, but I hope to get back there one day soon!

Leave a Reply

