No Food Allowed! Week 9….

There is a light at the end of the tunnel. Last night was the first night in a month that I didn’t feel like I was stranded on a boat in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. This little person inside of me is already calling allll the shots, and I am slowly (knock on wood) starting to feel better.

So how does an aspiring vegan eat when nothing looks/smells/tastes appealing?

Not very well.

I admit to cheese products (never have the Nachos at The Prescott, such a disappointment). I admit to small bags of all-dressed chips. I admit to 4 donut holes and a cream cheese sandwich from Tim Hortons. I admit to a dinner which consisted entirely of steamed broccoli. Finally, I admit to an ongoing addiction to jelly beans (although I made sure they had carnauba wax instead of gelatine).

It has not been pretty. I am finally able to return to my smoothie in the morning, although I still have not been able to make it green. Pregnancy food aversions are such strange things. I haven’t tried putting kale into a smoothie, I just know that there’s no way that would get past my lips.

Ladies, they do not prepare us for the horror of the first few months of pregnancy. I have been sick. I have been tired. I cannot eat normally. I don’t have any energy. And the whole world looks strange and scary. There is so much talk about post-partum depression, but you never hear about pre-partum depression.

Before I got pregnant I was so confident that I would be the healthiest, most perfect picture of pregnancy. I had no idea that I would get completely bowled over by it.

All that to say, I am starting to feel more like myself again. I even have plans to go to the gym after work. (I said I have plans…that’s not a promise…).

All that said, I have no recipes, I am unable to discuss food.  But I can tell you that I met my wonderful midwife last week. That was an amazing moment, because it made everything feel more real. She made me feel so confident and safe; she talked a lot about how midwives and doctors and hospitals are all part of the same team, they are not exclusive of each other. And we talked about home birth, something I’ve always contemplated, but am not decided on. She told me that where you give birth often depends on the culture you’re in. So in Holland, people would think there was something wrong with your pregnancy if you gave birth in a hospital, but in Brazil, I would already be signed up for a C-section!

So that’s where I’m at. I wanted to give you an update because I am still alive…I was just really hurting for awhile. I’m coming up on 10 weeks, so I’ll try and get a picture in by the weekend (trust me, there’s not much to see!).

Enjoy some food for me! (And maybe a glass of wine!)

Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

2 responses to “No Food Allowed! Week 9….

  • Kelly C

    Oh man! Poor you! I was sick for the first four months of my pregnancy. I feel your pain. I used to wake up and dread brushing my teeth because it would always make me lose my lunch. My kid is four and a half and I still can’t brush my teeth first thing in the morning. Everyone has a sure fire trick, I will share mine. I ate apples. Anytime I felt a little queasy I would eat some apple and it seemed to help me. Maybe it will help you! I had a doula when I was pregnant. Still ended up witha c-section (lucky me, my kid was huge) but she was amazing to have around and helped me through the whole thing. It especially helps when the OB can only spend five minutes with you iand not until you are quite further along. Hope you feel better and get back to feeling like yourself again soon!

    • Sarah Stumbles

      Thanks for your advice, Kelly! Apples have been helping a bit, and bananas seem to keep me full for awhile too. My mom was a doula for awhile, and she will definitely be at the birth! Thanks for writing, it helps to know I’m not alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

