The Art of Tofu

Sorry for being MIA yesterday, tis the busy season! I did make a beautiful tofu that I wanted to share. Tofu can either be very boring, or very yummy, and I believe the key is in marinating. Tofu takes on the taste of whatever is around it, so if you just grill it up plain, it’s not going to taste like much. I normally cube my tofu and marinate it for about 10-20 minutes before frying it. But if you have a bit more time, I suggest the following baked method. Equally tasting, but a bit softer on the eyes. A great dish to impress guests with!

Tofu:

1 package firm tofu

slice into 1″ pieces, then cut on an angle to make triangles

 

Marinade:

Using my submersible wand I blended together:

1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce

1 tbsp miso

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp dijon mustard

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

1 large clove garlic

a chunk of ginger

1 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon

1 cup water

 

I placed the tofu into the dish I would be cooking it in and poured the marinade overtop, making sure each piece was covered. Then I baked it in the over for about an hour at 400 degrees. If you don’t have that kind of time, you can definitely fry it too, but this way the marinade made a beautiful gravy that got nice and thick and sticky.

This went perfectly on top of a big salad.

You might hear some controversy about tofu, or soy in general, so I’ll tell you what I know (remember, I am not a doctor or a scientist!). Soy is a phyto-estrogen, which means that it can mimic estrogen. The fear is that if we eat too much of it our body will think it has too much estrogen in it. While this may be true to some extent, I think it pales in comparison to the real hormones that we unknowingly ingest throughout our lives, from meat and dairy, from drinking water, high caffeine consumption which forces our bodies to create excess hormones… I do limit the amount of soy in our diet because soy can be over processed. It is easy to slip into having it every day  without realizing it. We drink almond milk instead of soy milk and coconut ice cream instead of soy ice cream. If you balance your soy consumption, there’s no need to worry. And if you’re really ambitious you could make your own…but I’ll leave that for another post!

–Sarah

 

 

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

