Tempeh Time

It took me awhile to warm up to tempeh. Once I finally wrapped my brain around tofu, tempeh seemed pretty far out there. More fermented than tofu? Tempeh is to tofu what Guiness is to a Pale Ale? I started out slowly, by buying the Tofurky tempeh strips, already marinated and portioned out. They were tasty enough, and The Husband enjoys the strips on his sandwiches. Last week I ordered a package of tempeh in my organic bin, and finally yesterday I decided to give it a try.

 

I chopped it up and marinated it for about 10 minutes, then fried it up with some mushrooms. This went on top of a big salad, and I think it turned out alright, if I do say so myself. Tempeh has an interesting taste, almost bread-like, and the texture is denser than regular tofu. It seemed heartier than tofu somehow, with a bit more zip in it. I will definitely be eating it again, and I think I’m ready to start experimenting with it some more (I see it crumbled in a lasagne, or marinated in a bbq sauce). Here’s what I did:

 

Marinated Tempeh

 

1 package of Tempeh, cubed

 

Drizzle of olive oil

 

Drizzle of sesame oil

 

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

 

1 tbsp miso

 

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

 

1 large clove garlic, finely chopped

 

 Throw everything into a sealable container, and shake the container to coat the tempeh. Let sit for about 10 minutes, shaking every once in awhile.

 

Meanwhile, prepare your big salad (mine had lentils, boston lettuce, arugula, red pepper and tomato).

 

Fry tempeh on medium heat in a drizzle of canola oil with chopped mushrooms until browned.

 

Add to salad, dress (I used olive oil, cider vinegar and a teaspoon of tahini), sprinkle with walnuts and more nutritional yeast (and/or Sriracha sauce, no judgement) and enjoy!

 

 

 

How do you like your tempeh?

 

Tomorrow I will be posting the first “Eat your heart out, Martha Stewart” cookie recipe!!!

-Sarah

 

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

3 responses to “Tempeh Time

Leave a Reply

