First Snow, Ottawa Organics and a Left-Over Idea

Guess what?

Winter’s here!

We woke up this morning to snowflakes and snowbanks. I brushed the sticky snow off my car this morning. It’s never as bad as you think it’s going to be. It’s very pretty, and not so cold. The snow is heavy and wet. I got out my trusty Sorel boots, my hat and mitts; put the 4-wheel drive on my car and slowly made my way to work!

I have two very exciting developments to share. One is that I have started the Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred. This is exciting because I am not a morning person. In my quest to better myself, I want to be able to get up earlier in the morning. So I bought the DVD and set it up in my bedroom so that I literally just have to roll out of bed. I did it this morning, and I must say, it’s definitely not an easy work-out. It’s less than 30 minutes, and gets the heart rate going. Now that I’m driving to work and not biking anymore, the extra 1/2 hour of excercise is perfect.

But what I’m really excited about is that I signed up for the Ottawa Organics delivery service! So on Friday, a big bin of organic, mostly local, fruits and veggies will be delivered to my door! Amazing! It’s such a great company, and you can add on extras, like tofu, soy milk, any extra veggies you might need, local organic flours, locally processed teas, and they’re adding more and more products all the time! (No, they are not paying me to say these things). The price is reasonable, definitely what I normally spend on fruits and veggies, and it’s all organic, which is something I always strive for, but find it hard to accomplish when I’m actually in the grocery store.

Maybe now is a good time to ask, why organic? What are the benefits of choosing organic? Can’t we just stick to the clean 15 and the dirty dozen? For myself, it’s about voting with my dollar. I want to show what is important to me by the food that I buy. There are a lot of reasons to eat organic produce, and I’m not a fan of scare tactics (“You’ll get cancer if you don’t eat organic!”), but as I mentioned, it is easy to feel helpless in this world, and one small way I can make a difference is by choosing to give my money to causes that matter to me. I want to support small farms, who don’t use harsh chemicals, who are invested in what they do because they believe in it. So I’ll let you know next week how the delivery went, I’m so excited to be finally pursuing 100% organic produce!

With the snow comes winter food, and a great way to make leftovers new again, is to throw ’em in a squash! Last night I bought an acorn squash (maybe my last non-0rganic produce purchase?), sliced it in half, sprinkled the halves with olive oil, salt and pepper, dried basil and thyme,  and baked it at 375 degrees for about an hour. I heated up our left overs from the night before (basmati rice, some diced veggies, bits of kale and a can of black-eyed peas thrown in, nothing fancy!) and when the squash was ready, I scooped the rice into the squash.

Dare I say…easy-peasy?

 

…then it was promptly covered in Sriracha hot sauce by the The Husband, and Nutritional Yeast by me. Acorn squash works best for this, because of it’s perfect serving size. I cut the squash about 1/3 and 2/3 so that The Husband’s portion was a bit bigger. I think the next time I make this, I will add the rice earlier, mix it in with the squash and then let it cook a little longer, maybe with some walnuts on top. Who ever thought left overs could be so exciting?

And so begins day one of 150 days of snow (or something like that, I’m a writer, not a mathematician),

Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

2 responses to “First Snow, Ottawa Organics and a Left-Over Idea

  • Katie

    30 day shred is awesome! By far the best at home work out. I’ve been using another organic delivery service in Ottawa called Life Organic for years and I absolutely love it! It works out way cheaper than the grocery store!

    • Sarah Stumbles

      I’m glad you liked the 30 day shred, I’m only on day one! I’ve only signed up for a one-time delivery from Ottawa Organics, so maybe I’ll check out Life Organic and see how they compare. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

