How to Feed a Hungry Man

As I have mentioned, I am an herbivore who lives with an omnivore, yet at home we eat a highly plant-based diet. So how do I keep my man happy?

I present my 3-way meals. By 3-way, I mean an orgy of beans, grains and veg. When I’m wondering what to feed my man, I stick with the 3-way, and no one goes hungry. Exhibit A: last night’s dinner…

First I chose my grain, a wild and brown rice mix. Make sure to put the rice on asap, as brown or wild rice can take up to 50 minutes to cook. If I’m cooking rice for dinner, I always make one cup of dry rice to two cups of water, and I throw it on as soon as I get home from work before I start any other chores (and by chores I mean watching Law & Order re-runs).

Next, I chopped up a purple sweet potato I had lying around (it had purple skin, but it was white inside! You can use a regular sweet potato, I won’t mind), and I rinsed and de-stemmed about 5 or 6 kale leaves. Since this was a bit of a fridge clean-out dinner, I also grabbed some mushrooms that were on their last legs stems and marinated them in tamari (soy sauce), about a tablespoon of miso paste, a few drops of sesame oil and a tablespoon of dijon mustard. I like to marinate things in tupperware containers, because you can shake things up to swish the juices around!

I scoured the pantry for some beans (hint: I pick up a can of beans every time I go to the grocery store, especially if they’re on sale. That way I always have a can in the pantry. Canned beans are my all-time favourite fast food), and found some Romano beans. I rinsed them thoroughly, added some chopped green pepper, olive oil, apple cider vinegar and spices (thyme and basil). This whole process honestly took me 5 minutes. I love fast food!

Finally I got things frying. In a large pan over medium heat, I fried about a quarter of a red onion and one clove of garlic (it was all we had!!!) in about 3 tablespoons of olive oil. When they started browing up, I tossed in the sweet potato and covered with a lid so that it fried and steamed. A few minutes later (I’m so scientific, eh?) I added the marinated mushrooms and put the lid back on. After testing the sweet potato to make sure it was more or less cooked all the way through (I honestly don’t have a time for you…10 minutes? 20? It was definitely past the “cop” part of Law & Order, and was well into the “lawyer” part), I then threw the kale ontop and covered it for another few minutes.

I squeezed some lime over the kale to add a bit more flavour. Now, I’m a raw kale advocate, but my man flares his nostrils when I suggest eating kale raw, so a quick steam keeps everyone happy. If I had been eating alone, I would have just massaged the kale with lemon and salt until it got nice and wilty.

Finally, serve it up and make it pretty:

I added sliced almonds and nutritional yeast to it after this picture was taken. Have I mentioned I put nutritional yeast on everything? My starving man loaded up on the hot sauce.

And voila. I giant healthy relatively fast meal, for my hungry man. All before the end of Law & Order.

Okay, okay…I’m not as housewifely as I sound. My man also makes dinner for his hungry wife:

Monday’s dinner: fried asparagus, roasted beets, on an arugula/tomato salad with sweet and sour roasted walnuts and crutons. Not too shabby…
With the time change and the darker evenings, we are definitely spending more time in the kitchen, which can only mean good (fast and healthy!) things.
 
I suggest you try a 3-way. Your man (or woman!) will thank you for it!
 
Sarah 
 
About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

