Vegan MoFo #20: Where do we go from here?

 

 

Well, Vegan MoFo is over, and after a month of blogging every week day (except the last 3 days, stupid work getting in the way of my blog!), I started to think about what I am going to do next.  Writing everyday can be difficult, I squeeze it into my lunch hour, swearing at my ancient computer that takes forever to upload photos. I’m not at all technologically inclined: there’s so much I’d like to do to make my blog prettier! I don’t strive to be a chef or a photographer, so neither my cooking, nor my photos are in any way above average. Over the weekend, I began to resign myself to the fact that maybe I’m just not cut out for this blogging thing.

 

Except…This past month I have been happier and more confident in my choices than I have since I first said “no” to the Easter lamb back in 1995. I feel like words and ideas that I didn’t even realize were building up inside me, have been flowing out. I think (I hope) that I have maybe even been able to inspire a few other people too. I have been able to vent, the share, to create, and most importantly, to vocalize what it’s like to eat differently from the mainstream.

 

Now, as I type this, my work colleagues are off at a Halloween pizza party, I will be joining them shortly. Last week when everyone was signing up for pizza, I decided not to. I felt the pressure to just go along with everyone else, but I also knew that I wouldn’t feel good eating pizza. I’m about to go warm up my left over chilli with vegan cornbread and daiya cheese. This is part of my journey.

 

So here is my promise to you, blog world. I’m in if you’re in. Who knows where this will lead me.

Here is some of what you can expect in the future:

 

Snacks: I’m a snacker, I love to nibble. My personal challenge is to do this healthily.

Kale chips! I'm still perfecting them, but I know I'll get there one day. Even the fails taste good.

 

Lunch: I work a 9-5 job, so look for lunch experiments.

A fancy lunch (trust me, they're not all like this!): Creamy kale salad, hemp seed hummus and juice pulp crackers. That is SERIOUSLY healthy.

 

Dinner: More Fast Food, Good Food dinners! I hope to have some more in depth dinners to share too, but if you’re like me, there’s not much time in the day for dallying.

Another curried chickpea dinner. Legumes and a salad just go so well together. Even through in a grain if you're super hungry. Mmmm...so fast, so good.

 

Words: I am a writer first and foremost, so you’ll probably be hearing a lot more of my views on the world, from plant-based issues, to yoga, to just things on my mind.

 

Thank you for the past month, I am overwhelmed and grateful for the response to my little corner of the internet!

 

So many thanks,

Sarah

 

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

