Vegan MoFo #14 – Surprise!

Vegan MoFoGreat response to Omni/Herbie relationships. It sounds like we all have different ways of dealing with the issues that come up. Relationships are full of change and growth, and it is up to each of us to decide what does or does not work for us.

So guess what was left on the counter for me this morning? The Vegan Shepherd’s Pie recipe from Monday! Yay! The Husband had thoughtfully written out the recipe, and I have it here for you. It’s a delicious cold weather meal, and great for feeding a lot of people. This version uses tons of fall vegetables, so much so that we were going to call it “Seasonal Shepherd’s Pie,” but The Husband, who’s name I will now tell you is Stephane, has aptly renamed it “Stepher’s Pie.” I agree.

Vegetables

Chop:

  • 2 cooking onions
  • 1 leak
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 medium peeled carrots
  • 1 parsnip
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1/2 – 1 macintosh apple
  • handful of mushrooms
  • 3 cloves of garlic (we like it garlicky around our house!)

Pan fry the ingredients until they become semi-soft (about 8 minutes), then add:

  • 2 tbsp dried savory (or whatever herb makes you happy)
  • salt and pepper to taste (the original recipe reads: lots, but I’ll leave that to your discretion)
  • 1 1/2 cups of good apple cider
  • Simmer all vegetables and cider until the liquid is gone, about 20 minutes or so.

Potatoes

  • boil 5 large yukon gold potatoes (or whatever you have on hand)
  • save 1 cup boil water
  • smash potatoes (I’m not sure why it’s smash and not mash, but I beleive it works out to be the same thing)
  • add a little Earth Balance margarine
  • add the 1 cup of boil water to the potatoes which will help to cream them up

In a casserole dish:

  • Bottom layer: vegetables
  • top layers: smashed potatoes

Top with breadcrumbs and a little honey or agave

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes without a lid. Finish off by broiling on high for 5 minutes.

Whip up a gravy of your choice, and pair it with a fresh coleslaw. Mmmmm…..

Thanks Husband!

The Husband made a really tasty coleslaw by shredding carrots, beets, parsnips and apple in the food processor and dressing it lightly with a citrus dressing

 

One more work day before the weekend. I’m hoping to test out a few more recipes this weekend to share with you, I’ve been craving lots of baked goods, so I’ll see what I can do!

–Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

3 responses to “Vegan MoFo #14 – Surprise!

Leave a Reply

