Vegan MoFo #11: Hi, My Name is Sarah

Vegan MoFo

I know, the vegan survey is tired, but hey, I’m new to this, and I thought some readers out there might want to get to know me a bit better, and I love answering surveys, so you’re stuck with it today! I got this one thanks to Hally over at The Odd Couple Eats. I added the last question because my lunch was just so tasty today!

Favorite non-dairy milk

Almond milk. Right now I’m drinking fortified store-bought, but when I can, I love making it myself. It’s so cool to squeeze milk out of the nut-milk bag and into a glass jar to store in your fridge. (Okay, post coming soon on that!) 

Topping of choice for popcorn?

Conventional popcorn gives me an allergic reaction (think heart palpitations), but for awhile – or when I feel like ignoring my allergy – I was using a salt & vinegar flavour shaker that definitely contained msg.  Now, as long as it’s organic popcorn, I think I would try Earth Balance margarine and sea salt, but it hasn’t happened yet. I just stay away from popcorn.   

Favorite pickled item?

Pickled eggplant. Really, it’s the only pickled item I like. Unless sauerkraut counts? I love my sauerkraut!

How do you organize your recipes?

I don’t. There are printed out recipes stuck in the back of most of my cookbooks. If I come across the one I’m looking for, I’m lucky. Maybe it’s time to invest in a filing system, eh?

If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods… what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)?

Quinoa. Apple cider vinegar. Tomatoes.  I get panicky if I don’t have one of those items in my pantry at all times.

Fondest food memory from your childhood?

When I was really little, my mom used to grind up Quaker granola in a food processor, and then pour warm milk over top. It was soooo good.

Favorite vegan ice cream?

Coconut Bliss. Delish.

Most loved kitchen appliance?

Submersion blender!  Because it does everything! Smoothies, soups, salad dressings…I might need to write an ode to my submersion blender…

Spice/herb you would die without?

Probably cumin (or curry). Fresh basil is a close second though. 

Cookbook you have owned for the longest time?

The New Moosewood Cookbook. It was my bible when I was first starting out as a vegetarian. I don’t think I realized other cookbooks existed. 

Favorite flavor of jam/jelly?

Strawberry, although The Scone Witch has an amazing Ginger Rhubarb jam that makes my mouth water.

Seitan, tofu, or tempeh?

Any of the above! Most often, I would say it’s fried, marinated tofu; seitan is more of a special occasion food for me.

What is sitting on top of your refrigerator?

We have cupboards above our refrigerator, so it’s large pots and pans that don’t fit in the regular pot/pan drawer. I can’t reach them though, so I haven’t looked up there in awhile.

Name 3 items in your freezer without looking.

Three packs of frozen edamame (why do I always think I’m out of edamame?), brown rice wraps (I never have the patience to wait for them to defrost, so they’ve been in there awhile), and really old coffee. I stopped drinking it last February, and the husband generally gets his at the coffee shop, so no one’s touched it in forever.

Favorite grocery store?

Metro (formerly Loeb). It’s a block from my house, and their organic section has really improved in the last few years. I can get Amy’s and Bob’s Mill products there, almond milk, organic and/or local fruits and veggies and Coconut Bliss ice cream. What more does one need?!
 

Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet.

My Nana’s grasshopper pie. It’s a creme-de-menthe creamy pudding-type filling on an oreo cookie crust. There’s gotta be a way…

Favorite vegan candy/chocolate?

High-quality dark chocolate fills the craving. No brand in particular. I’m not picky when it comes to chocolate. Also, does dehydrated mango slices count?

Most extravagant food item purchased lately?

The husband would say it’s Mary’s Gone crackers, since they cost about $6 if not on sale. I say it’s a necessary pantry staple. We agree to disagree.

What is a food or dish you wouldn’t touch as a child, but enjoy now?
Anything with mushrooms in it. They used to make me gag until I had a mushroom ravioli a few years ago. Since then I have loved mushrooms. Don’t know what changed…

What vegan dish or food you feel like you “should” like, but don’t?

Tabbouleh, unless it’s from a specific Lebanese food shop. If it’s homemade it tends to gross me out for some reason. Oh yeah, and cucumbers. I have TRIED to like them. I make weird faces when I taste them. Blech! (I know, I know, it’s totally weird. But trust me, I’ve TRIED!)

What dish are you “famous” for making or bringing to gatherings?

Hmm, I usually bring something different every time. I made a raw vegan brownie that went over really well this past Labour Day.

What’s one food or dish you tend to eat too much of when you have it in your home?

Any kind of dessert. Since it’s just two of us at home, if we have a dessert, we’re eating it for days. (Which reminds me, there’s half a chocolate cake left over from Thanksgiving that needs to be thrown out!)

What ingredient or food is worth spending the extra money to get “the good stuff”?

Maple syrup. No question. Spend the $10 on the real stuff. I never regret it.

What is your favorite vegetable? Fruit?

Vegetable: Kale

Fruit: Tomatoes (and maybe a really ripe mango. Yum)

What is the best salad dressing?

Olive oil, apple cider vinegar and dijon mustard. I put that sh*t on everything.

What is your favorite thing to put on toasted bread?

Earth Balance margarine, cinnamon and sugar.

What is your most-loved “weeknight meal”?

Anything fast! My go-to meal tends to be a grain, a bean and a salad. As long as I have that, I’m feeling good.

What is one dish or food you enjoy, but can’t get anyone else in your household to eat?

Kale. He’ll eat it, but not happily. Which is fine, because that means more for me!

How long, in total, do you spend in the kitchen on an average day?

About an hour a day. Maybe a bit more if I’m experimenting.

What did you have for lunch today?

Left-overs: Quinoa, chopped red peppers and steamed swiss-chard, with sesame oil and tamari sauce, all mixed up together. Mmmmm!

The rest of this week I will be focussing on Veganism in the work-place, such as preparing lunches to bring to work, and dealing with co-workers who watch what you put in the microwave as if you were giving birth to an alien child.

Also, I am writing a report for YTT (yoga teacher training) on Ahimsa, and I will share it here once I’m done.

Happy Monday!

–Sarah

 

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

One response to “Vegan MoFo #11: Hi, My Name is Sarah

Leave a Reply

