Vegan MoFo #6: Let’s Talk About Clutter

Vegan MoFo

I left my camera at my grandparents house, so my Thanksgiving post will have to be put off until later in the week. During my relaxing day off today, I’ve been contemplating something that I thought has to do with any life-style change, or just living in general, I suppose: clutter. I am a self-diagnosed pack-rat, a few boxes shy of hoarding. I have a feeling it runs in my family (after helping my mom move last year, and helping my grandparents move a few years before, I think that’s a pretty safe statement).

When I experimented with eating a high raw diet a few years ago, I jumped on the bandwagon, buying blenders, food processors, a mandoline, a dehydrator, a juicer. As moved back to eating a mostly vegan diet, the dehydrator sat in the corner gathering dust, the only appliance I usually have time for is my submersion blender, and now I have drawers full of fancy slicing devices.

I’m here to tell you that if you are just starting out on a plant-based life-style, you don’t need to rush off to the store to buy anything specific for it. Yes, a blender will help with smoothies, a food processor will allow you to make hummus,but  there’s nothing you need right away other than fresh veggies, some whole grains, beans or peas. No blender to make a smoothie? One of my favorite breakfasts when I was just starting out (or when I’m running short on time) is to slice open a banana the long way, spread almond butter on it, sprinkle on some hemp seeds and maybe a little drizzle of maple syrup. Delicious, nutritious, and no appliances necessary. While it’s no kale smoothie, as long as make myself a big salad for lunch or dinner, I’m still better off than bacon and eggs! Hummus can be bought, it doesn’t need to be home-made if that’s just not in the cards for you. Try and find a local Lebanese or Greek food shop, where they make in-h0use hummus (and maybe even tabbouleh, yum!); it’s usually less-expensive than a grocery chain as well.

Finally, I want to talk about clutter on a psychological level. The plant-based life-style is about being kind to animals, yes, but it’s also about being kind to yourself, feeding your body foods that nourish you. We have to learn to let go of what other people’s ideas of food are, we have to learn to trust ourselves and what is right for our body. Clutter comes in all forms, it can be the junk we keep in the basement, it can be the junk we keep in the trunk of our car; it can be the junk we keep in our bodies from years of unhealthy eating. Clutter takes up energy, it uses valuable resources that could be spent elsewhere.

So I have given myself a challenge to start cleaning out some of my clutter. Next weekend is Kitchen Clean-out, a good place to start so that I can be more focused when it comes to making yummy vegan recipes to share here.

Anyone else facing clutter issues? Has anyone experienced how good it feels to let go of “stuff”, whe  certain objects, people or emotions no longer serve you?

Hopefully I will have my camera back tomorrow and I will show you my wonderful veggie Thanksgiving dinner!

–Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

One response to “Vegan MoFo #6: Let’s Talk About Clutter

  • Mandee

    What a great post, I certainly know what you mean. I did the same thing when I Raw and now I no longer use my dehydrator and we have so many kitchen appliances and gadgets that we don’t use and that take up space everywhere.

    I think it’s a great idea to do a de-clutter every few months 🙂

Leave a Reply

