Vegan MoFo #5 – The Power of Silence

Vegan MoFo

 

It’s strange, Thanksgiving has never really bothered me. More than usual that is. Yes, millions more Turkeys die on this day than an other, but this is nothing new. This year, I’m using Thanksgiving as an opportunity to put a new dish on the table. Most importantly, I use Thanksgiving as an opportunity to show my family how easy it is to not eat animals.

We usually gather at my grandparents house, with family coming in from Toronto, Cornwall and Ottawa. A turkey is always cooked, yes, and there is stuffing, but other than that, the rest of the side dishes are all at least vegetarian. My mom makes a rice/tofu stuffed pumpkin, I usually whip up a vegan gravy, and this year I’m planning on bringing a lentil loaf. There are salads, beans, potatoes, yams, cranberry sauce, maybe some peas or roasted asparagus. It’s a huge feast, and year after year, I demonstrate how full and satisfied I am.

We can talk ourselves blue in the face about our reasons why we don’t eat meat, but the most valuable arguments are our actions. This weekend (or next month for our southern neighbours) promote the plant-based life-style without saying a word. Show up with a new dish, don’t even bring attention to the fact that it’s vegan (maybe dropping a comment after the bowl has been licked clean). Speak to the host before-hand to make sure he/she won’t mind if you bring something, and to confirm what will/won’t have animal products (depending on your level of strictness, I tend to let some dairy slide on holidays, again to show how easy my life-style is, this is my personal choice, and we can get into the ethics of it in another post). On the day of, tuck into your meal, mmming and ahhhing along with everyone else.

See? your bloated tummy and swimming eyes will say to your friends and family, eating a plant-based diet is easy!

Have a great weekend, look for what I ate for Thanksgiving pics on Monday.

One week down, I hope everyone is having as much fun as I am!

 

–Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

One response to “Vegan MoFo #5 – The Power of Silence

Leave a Reply

