Vegan MoFo #3 – Purple Pizza for the Young and Old

Vegan MoFo

I came up with this recipe awhile back, and wrote it out for a work friend of mine who struggles to get her kids to eat veggies. My husband says I shouldn’t call this pizza because it doesn’t look anything like pizza. When I looked up the definition of pizza though, I think it suits it perfectly! Crust and toppings! Mmmm!

piz·za (pts)

n.

A baked pie of Italian origin consisting of a shallow bread like crust covered with toppings such as seasoned tomato sauce, cheese, sausage, or olives.
And so I proudly present, Sarah’s Purple Pizza!

Purple Pizza

(4 servings)

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

  • 4 whole-wheat Greek-style pitas  (or breakfast pitas would work too)

Pizza sauce

  • ½ container (or 1 C home-made) hummus
  • 1 can tomato paste

Purple topping

  • ½ can black beans
  • ½ cup artichoke hearts
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional – adds a cheesier flavour)

Pizza toppings of your choice (I used chopped tomatoes, shredded spinach, sliced mushrooms and chopped kalimata olives)

Italian seasonings/spices (oregano, thyme, rosemary, basil)

Mix together pizza sauce and spread on pita, making sure you leave a bit of crust showing around the edge.  Place toppings on pizzas.

Blend together the purple topping. I used a submersion blender, since it’s easier to clean up than a food processor. What’s great about a blended sauce is that you can sneak other things in it too. Try sneaking in some extra spinach, no one will ever notice, although I can’t guarantee it’ll stay purple.

Drizzle on top of the pizzas, sprinkle with Italian seasoning and bake for about 20 minutes, or until the pitas have toasted up a bit.

I’m not sure of the nutritional content, but even if the kids don’t want any toppings on their pizza, the sauce and purple topping alone have tons of protein, vitamins and nutrients, especially if you sneak spinach in the topping.

 

Enjoy!

–Sarah

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

One response to “Vegan MoFo #3 – Purple Pizza for the Young and Old

Leave a Reply

