What’s in a name?

Growing up in the late 80’s and 90’s, The Simpsons was a big part of my world. Simpson’s quotes are still thrown around by most people I know. The title of this blog is from the episode when Lisa Simpson decides to be a vegetarian. I didn’t think much about it the first time I saw that episode, I might have still been eating meat then. The first big family dinner after I stopped eating meat though, my cousin shouted across the table, “Hey, Sarah! Are you going to marry a carrot?” I’m sure I laughed it off. But 16 years later, I feel like I finally understand Lisa’s response. In fact, if that line is ever said to me again, I would proudly answer, “Yes, I AM going to marry a carrot!” To me, it epitomizes the misunderstanding that exists between those who eat meat, and those who don’t. It is a defence mechanism to make a joke out of something that may be scary or hard to understand. All in all, when it comes to food ethics, everyone ends up feeling judged and defensive, it’s just that there’s a lot more people who eat meat than people who don’t.

Vegetarians and vegans are strangers in a strange world. We choose to eat the way we eat. It is not (usually) an allergy, or an intolerance (although after not eating dairy for awhile, I can safely say that my body doesn’t like it very much anymore!), we choose to eat this way, a fact that tends to confuse or even offend those who eat meat. For me, not eating meat is easy, explaining it to others, is complicated. It can also be lonely and confusing. I want this blog to be a venue to discuss the issues that come up, share ideas, experiences, and recipes and really start an open and honest dialogue about, as Michael Pollan puts it, the omnivore’s dilemma or our choice. Since I do have a full-time day job, I will start by posting once or twice a week. I welcome comments on anything I post, but no more judgements or harsh words please, we all get enough of that out there in reality.

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

4 responses to “What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

