Epiphanies

I had two epiphanies. One happened last night while I was in the bathtub at 11pm (way too late on a work-night), after having drank 2 beers and 3 glasses of wine (WAY too much on a work-night!), while nursing my aching uterus which was housing a two-week early period (WAYYYY too early, hormones!) and it dawned on me…why am I fighting my body? My body knows what it wants. My body has never let me down before. I need to start supporting my body instead of having arguments with it all day long and well into the night (especially on work-nights when the neighbours stop by, apparently). So I had a little conversation that went like this:

Brain: Wow Body, I just realized that all you want is for me to love you and respect you.

Body: No sh*t, Sherlock. I can do amazing things for you, if you would just TRUST me!

Brain: But I’m so scared! What will other people say? What will other people think???

Body: For a brain, you are so stupid. It doesn’t matter what other people think, as long as we have each other! We need to get on the same team here, because without each other, we are nothing.

Brain: But if I’m totally healthy, I’ll be all square and lame and BORING.

Body: You know what’s boring? The conversation you have 10 times a day that goes: Oh boo hoo, why do I feel so poopy? Why am I not happy? Why am I so tired? Why do I suck so much? That gets boring, old friend. And you know what, if you get healthy, you – brain – don’t change. I – body – do the changing! So you just need to trust me and let me do my job. Can you do that, dum-dum?

Brain: Huh. I had honestly never thought of it that way. We could help each other out…

There was a hush in the bathroom, the leaky tap dripped a bit. Brain and body were quiet.

Brain: Okay, I’m in. I’ll make sure to always check with you before I do anything that could affect you, and I will try to remember to respect you, and I will try to remember that when I respect you, you can support me, and that’s how we’ll live happily ever after!

Body: Thank you, that is all I need.

And I got up this morning and made a green juice. It was too spicy (an entire bunch of swiss chard was probably unnecessary), and it could’ve used an apple or too, but my brain knew that my body would like it. And it did.

The second epiphany was that this blog ain’t gonna start itself.

–Sarah

 

About Sarah Tombler

I live in Ottawa, Canada with my husband and our twins. I work for the Public Service, and I have been a vegetarian for 18 years. Over the years, I have started to understand that what we eat effects us, through mood, weight and positive thoughts. I am working towards cutting most animal products from my diet, in an attempt to live a life of compassion, and to do what I can to help this small planet of ours. I also love letting people know that the secret to happiness may be as simple as what we put in our bodies. View all posts by Sarah Tombler

Leave a Reply

